LIVING REVIEWS

Living Reviews: Testimonials

We gratefully acknowledge feedback from our readers, authors, and referees!

Living Reviews in Relativity

DATE: Thu, 17 Aug 2006 17:31:42 -0000
USER: Samuel Axel
INSTITUTION: University of Mauritius

COMMENTS:
Dear Sir / Madam,

I recently graduated in physics at the University of Mauritius, obtaining a first class degree in BSc (Hons) Physics and have done a dissertation on 'General Relativistic Effects in Compact Binaries'.

The articles that have been published in Living Reviews have enormously helped me to complete and submit a good dissertation. These free articles you are providing are like treasures to young African scientists like me since generally we do not have access to very good books on relativity and on the astrophysics of compact objects even at the library of the university. Moreover, the standard texts on relativity are usually very expensive so unaffordable.

Thus, I am grateful to you for the great job you and the researchers are doing. I thank you in advance for accepting these few words from my part.

Yours Sincerely,
A. Z. Samuel

"Thanks for this and your truly epic service to the community. I do not download often but tend to read directly from your excellent site. The best handling of scholarly papers I have yet encountered. Thanks thanks thanks."
-- Steve Selesnick

"I use the LR all the time. Thanks."
-- Paul Esposito

"Gentlemen, my congratulations for the work you do. (...) The printing result is excellent."
-- P. Argyrakis

"Thanks for the excellent service provided."
-- Jaume Carot

http://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=194492
Oct28-07
Dvin:

i am a master's student and want to work on general relativity! does anybody have information on the most recent fields of research in general relativity!

Oct28-07
Chris Hillman:

An excellent reference for advanced students is Living Reviews in Relativity, a website which offers many authoritative and generally excellent review papers.

From: Travis C. Brooks
Date: Thu, 28 Feb 2008 08:52:28 -0800

We at SPIRES certainly admire the Living Reviews philosophy and support your efforts.
-- Travis C. Brooks

From: Comer Duncan
Date: Fri, 14 Mar 2008 15:09:51 -0400

I think that LLR provides a very good service for relativists. -- Comer Duncan

From: Bei Lok Hu
Date: Sat, 20 Sep 2008 03:31:02 -0400

From the perspective of a reader, I can say that the electronic publication of a continuously updatable review such as LRR has finally brought members of our community to within each other's light cone (we can't say `we can't find it' anymore) and promoted in us a sense of relevance and togetherness. -- BL

From: Centrella, Joan M.
Date: 14.04.2011 18:41

I am writing a short overview article on GWs for astrophysicists who are not GW experts, I am keen to reference review articles. I am referencing 4 LRR articles! It's a great journal, and so accessible – I like to reference articles that are both peer-reviewed and available freely online.

From: Sabine Hossenfelder
Date: 31.01.2013
http://backreaction.blogspot.de/2013/01/interna.html

My review on the minimal length scale got now published in Living Reviews in Relativity. I have been very impressed by how smoothly and well-organized their review and publication process went. Needless to say, now every time I see a paper on the arXiv on a topic covered by the review, I'm dreading the day I have to update this thing.

Living Reviews in Solar Physics

DATE: Tue, 18 Oct 2005 13:48:50 -0000
USER: Khalil DAIFFALLAH


INSTITUTION: Astronomy, Astrophysics and Geophysics Research Center
(CRAAG), Algiers, Algeria

COMMENTS:
thank you very much for this Solar Physics paradise!

Date: Aug 07, 2005 05:49 PM

Have seen a few of your articles, and am very impressed!!! Particularly articles by Fan and Charbonneau

Great job!!!

Kenneth Schatten

Date: Nov 17, 2005 01:51 PM

P.S. Love the journal!

Ed DeLuca

DATE: Wed, 15 Mar 2006 09:55:32 -0000
USER: Ms. Ileane B. Smith
INSTITUTION: N/A

COMMENTS:
Dear Living Reviews,

This is a great resource and format for presenting solar research. I find it hard to decide which paper to read first! (...)

From: R.C. (potential author)
Date: Jan 3, 2011 6:39 PM

I'm flattered by your request to serve as author for one of the Living Reviews, and I'm very intrigued by the idea of producing an evolving document on the subject [...]. I always find myself updating or amending personal notes on many scientific subjects that I need to investigate for my own work, so the concept of regularly maintaining a scientific article is very appealing to me, and very close to my work style.

Andrés Muñoz-Jaramillo
"The Solar Magnetic Cycle: Past, Present, and Future"
The Coronal Courant, 2011, 1 (3), p. 36

[...] Acknowledgements
As I was writing this short review, I realized how important and useful are the "Living Reviews in Solar Physics" for me. I want to thank everyone involved in making them happen (editors, writers, staff, etc.). The reviews represent an invaluable tool for students and researchers in solar physics. The same applies to NASA/SAO Astrophysics Data System (ADS; another crucial tool for astrophysical research).

From: Marius Potgieter
Subject: Re: Living Reviews: Refereeing Decision
Date: 2013-05-06

Thank you for the careful reading of this long review and the many significant and useful comments, suggestions and corrections. It made my work easier and I appreciate it very much. I wish that more referee reports could be done with such dignity and with such a high standard.